01 05/2009Damien Buckley Misleading unsolicited emails from Asian domain name companies

Propeller have recently been notified by some clients of emails they have received from Asia-based companies regarding potential domain name registrations etc. Propeller have advised our clients that these emails are misleading and purely speculative and our advice is that they are best ignored.

The Australian Domain Name Administrator, auDA today issued this notification and advice.

auDA is aware that at least two companies apparently based in China and Hong Kong have been sending unsolicited emails to people with .au domain names, attempting to mislead them into registering their name in a number of Asian domain spaces.

Examples include:

We are a domain name registration service company in Asia, Last week we received a formal application submited by Yadu Investment Co Ltd which wanted to use the keyword “***” to register the Internet Brand and with suffix such as .cn /.com.cn /.net.cn/.hk/ .asia/ domain names.

After our initial examination, we found that these domain names to be applied for registration are same as your domain name and trademark. We aren’t sure whether you have any relation with this company. Because these domain names would produce possible dispute, now we have hold down this registration, but if we do not get your company’s an reply in the next 5 working days, we will approve this company’s application.

In order to handle this issue better, Please contact us by Fax ,Telephone or Email as soon as possible.


We are a professional domain name registration center in asia, mainly dealing with the domain name registration and internet intellectual property rights protection.

We received a formal application from a company who is applying to register “***” as their domain name and Internet keyword on Apr 2th, 2009. Because this involves your company name or trade mark so we inform you in no time. we would like to confirm if this company is your partner, subsection or some one you authorized, if it is not, pls inform us if these domain names and internet keyword are important to you and it is necessary to protect them by registering them first or not, thanks for your cooperation, looking forward to your reply.

auDA does not have jurisdiction to handle complaints about these emails, as they do not involve the registration of .au domain names. We have been advised that authorities in Hong Kong are investigating at least one of the companies sending these emails.

In auDA’s view the claims made in these emails are most likely false and misleading, and we advise people to disregard them.

Like this? Share it!

Recent Projects

  • The 'New' Stradbroke Island Beach Hotel Website

    Stradbroke Island Beach Hotel

    We dont often share single website launches but in this instance there is a degree of history behind it which speaks to a return on investment not normally associated with websites.

  • Brown Brothers Engineers New Zealand

    Brown Brothers Engineers New Zealand

    December 2013 saw the launch of a new Brown Brothers Engineers Australia website. October 2014 sees the turn of New Zealand parent company Brown Brothers Engineers.

  • RedFest 2014


    Read about Propeller’s 2014 responsive reboot of the RedFest website.

  • Into Harmony Health Services

    Into Harmony Health Services

    Into Harmony Health Services are located in Bayside, Brisbane. Melanie Young has been passionate about health and wellness for over 30 years. Following a substantial period of rehabilitation following a car accident and surviving cancer in her late twenties, Melanie has dedicated years of personal development and training to assisting other people with their health challenges.

Get The Latest!

Subscribe to our free e-newsletter for our latest news and offers - direct to your inbox.